We are always looking to expand our network of Norwegians abroad, and we are very pleased that Anita is now a part of our team. Here you can get to know our new Representative in Boulder, CO:

How old are you and where do you come from?
I am 54 years old, and was born in Oslo.

What is your relation to Norway?
My father was Norwegian, and so is my mother. My mother, my two brothers and my aunt live in Norway, my sister lives in California. I also have several cousins and other family members in Norway.

Which other countries have you lived in?
I have lived in New York for two year and in Venezuela for 10 years when I was growing up. My father was the Norwegian Consul General to Venezuela.

I moved back to Norway when I was 13 years old and lived at the family farm in Asker (outside of Oslo). I went to Kristelig Gymnasium (high school). After graduating from the University of Oslo with a degree in law (cand.jur.), I worked at the Royal Ministry of the Environment for two years before I moved to New York to study for a Master of Laws degree (LL.M.) and later a Doctorate in the Science of Law (J.S.D.) from Columbia University, School of Law.

Do you visit Norway often?
We have visited Norway nearly every summer so that my children could get to know their grandparents and have a sense of belonging to Norway. Both of them can now speak Norwegian largely due to Norgesskolen, Nordmannsforbundet’s summer school in Norwegian language, history and culture.

Where do you live now and what is your profession?
I live in Boulder, Colorado. As a lawyer, I teach and do researcher in international law, especially international environmental law and global climate change law. I am an Adjunct Professor at the University of Denver, Sturm College of Law and I am the director of an international think tank and consultancy, Global Legal Solutions.

How long have you lived in Boulder?
For more than 20 years now. After receiving my masters, I married an American. We have two children – a daughter who is a sophomore in college and a son who is a high school senior.

Colorado has 300 days of sunshine – a well kept secret. When it snows, the snow melts after 2-3 days here in Boulder, so not much work involved. There are amazing mountains in Colorado, but unfortunately not too many lakes. Yet, the Colorado has fantastic skiing conditions.

How do you wish to contribute as a Representative of Norwegians Worldwide, and what part of the organization are you most passionate about?
I wish to make other Norwegians in Colorado aware of Nordmannsforbundet (Norwegians Worldwide), including letting the ones with children become aware of Norgesskolen.

I am passionate about dual citizenship for Norwegians, just as the Swedes have dual citizenship. I have not applied for American citizenship, as that would mean I would lose my Norwegian one, but I wish I could vote here in the US.

What do you like to do in your spare time?
I am usually very busy with work, but I always take time to walk with our dog, a whippet, named Speedy, every day, ‘rain or shine’. I also like to visit museums, read crime novels, especially Norwegian ones. I watch “Dagsrevyen” (Norwegian Broadcasting Corporation) online as often as I can. When it comes to food, my kids love Norwegian waffles, and so do I.

Do you live in Boulder or nearby and want to get in touch with other Norwegians? You can find Anita’s contact information here.